Mission Statement

We have drawn up our mission statement after long round-table discussions with employees and executives from the technical and administrative departments. It reflects reality and incorporates the visions which we wish to realise together, and is meant to be our guideline that will help us fulfil our duties. The principles listed therein constitute a guiding framework for a shared identity and will be continuously reviewed and updated with regard to their sustainability.

 

Our Function and Service Range

With its broad range of services, the Central Administration is one of the university’s key organisations. We create the environment in which high-standard research and academia can evolve. We fulfil a wide variety of tasks for prospective and current students, teachers and researchers, as well as all other university members and affiliates. We collaborate with the people, institutions and organisations associated with us inside and outside the university, on a national and international level.
We take our customers’ and partners’ concerns and requests seriously and meet them in a forthcoming, friendly and open manner. We conduct our work in a dedicated and efficient fashion. We display professional competence and solve problems in a flexible and creative way. In all this, we are always striving to ensure the utmost in transparency with regard to administrative and decision-making processes.
The administration is subject to ongoing changes. In this process of change, we welcome new input and continuously optimise the quality of our work. We respect the Equal Treatment Act and object to inappropriate interference and arbitrary actions.

Our Teamwork

We can only then fulfil our duties in the best possible manner if we act as a team where each and every member is dedicated and motivated to work towards a shared goal. This means first and foremost that every single one of us is prepared to take responsibility for his or her actions and behaviour on the job as well as in his or her private capacity. Everyone contributes actively to creating a positive work environment. By treating our co-workers in a respectful, open and friendly manner, we ensure high levels of loyalty, fairness and lack of discrimination. We provide mutual information and support – across all administrative departments and hierarchical levels. The first rule in any conflict is to keep the debate objective and on-topic. We are committed to creating good working conditions and treat one another with consideration.
We understand that each and every one of us makes an important contribution to the administration’s range of functions, and we acknowledge and value our colleagues’ performance and experience. We are aware that we can only meet the ever-growing requirements and changes associated with our range of duties by taking part in ongoing training and coaching programmes. To this end, it is necessary to allot a lot of space and time to internal communication.
We are also prepared to continuously broaden our professional, methodical and social competencies. Relevant qualification measures are amply provided. As far as our activities are concerned, we are committed to the principle of utilising the resources that are available to us in a targeted, profitable and environmentally sound manner.

Our Management Principles

The complex and varied functions of the technical and administrative departments require qualified and dedicated managerial and executive personnel with outstanding professional competence and social skills. By assuming managerial duties and working hand in hand with our employees, we create the conditions under which teamwork flourishes and collaboration and communication are embraced.
We are deeply committed to equal opportunities in employment and service delivery. We consider diversity an important asset of our workplace. We prevent any forms of discrimination. To this end, we delegate responsibility, distribute tasks fairly and involve employees actively in workflow organisation.
Our management principles require us to engage in continuous and open communication with our employees regarding the shared performance of tasks and duties. A job well done will always be explicitly acknowledged. We shield and protect our employees. We accept appropriate, constructive critique. As managerial resp. executive staff, we are aware of our responsibility and our role-model status. By ensuring consistency of words and actions, we help realising the principles and ideals of our mission statement.

Our Vision

By implementing the principles of our mission statement in our daily routine, we strive to help all members of our staff engage with their workplace at the Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Our goal is to create optimal working conditions, better job satisfaction and higher motivation levels through suitable projects and measures and, consequently, to achieve an observable increase in overall quality. Every one of us wishes to contribute constructively and happily to the successful implementation of all university functions.

Unser Leitbild

Das Leitbild wurde zusammen mit Mitarbeiter/innen und Führungskräften von Technik und Verwaltung in intensiven Gesprächen gestaltet. Es beinhaltet sowohl die Realität als auch Visionen, die wir gemeinsam verwirklichen wollen und soll uns als Wegweiser bei der Erfüllung unserer Aufgaben dienen. Die hier enthaltenen Grundsätze sind Orientierungsrahmen für eine gemeinsame Identität, die immer wieder auf Ihre Tragfähigkeit überprüft und fortgeschrieben werden müssen.

Unsere Aufgaben und Leistungen

Die Zentrale Verwaltung bildet als dienstleistende Einrichtung ein tragendes Element der Universität. Wir schaffen die verwaltungstechnischen Voraussetzungen für einen hohen Standard in Forschung und Lehre. Wir erfüllen vielfältige Aufgaben für Studieninteressierte, Studierende, Lehrende und Forschende und alle weiteren Mitglieder und Angehörigen der Hochschule. Wir kooperieren mit den uns verbundenen Personen, Institutionen und Unternehmen innerhalb und außerhalb der Universität, national und international.

Die Anliegen unserer Kundinnen und Kunden und unserer Partner und Partnerinnen nehmen wir ernst und begegnen ihnen mit Verständnis, Freundlichkeit und Offenheit. Wir arbeiten engagiert und effektiv. Wir überzeugen durch fachliche Kompetenz und lösen Probleme flexibel und kreativ. Dabei bemühen wir uns um größtmögliche Transparenz der Verwaltungsabläufe und Entscheidungswege.

Verwaltung befindet sich in ständigem Wandel. In diesem Veränderungsprozess sind wir Neuem gegenüber aufgeschlossen und verbessern die Qualität unserer Arbeit kontinuierlich. Wir achten das Gebot der Gleichbehandlung und lehnen sachfremde Einflussnahme und Willkür entschieden ab.

Unsere Zusammenarbeit

Wir erfüllen unsere Aufgaben nur dann optimal, wenn wir uns als Team verstehen, in dem jede/r engagiert und motiviert seinen Beitrag leistet. Dies bedeutet in erster Linie, dass jede/r einzelne von uns bereit ist, die Verantwortung für sein dienstbezogenes Handeln und persönliches Verhalten zu übernehmen. Jede und jeder wirkt aktiv an der Gestaltung eines guten Betriebsklimas mit. Ein kollegiales, faires und diskriminierungsfreies Miteinander erreichen wir durch respektvollen, offenen und freundlichen Umgang. Wir informieren und unterstützen uns gegenseitig - auch über Dezernatsgrenzen und Hierarchieebenen hinweg -. Sachlichkeit in der Auseinandersetzung hat oberste Priorität. Wir setzen uns für gute Arbeitsbedingungen ein und gehen fürsorglich miteinander um.

Weil wir wissen, dass jede/r einzelne von uns einen eigenen und wichtigen Beitrag zur Aufgabenerfüllung der Verwaltung leistet, anerkennen und achten wir die Leistungen und Erfahrungen der Kolleg/innen. Wir sind uns bewusst, dass wir den wachsenden Anforderungen und Änderungen unserer Aufgaben nur durch kontinuierliche Fort- und Weiterbildung gerecht werden können. Dafür ist auch erforderlich, dass der internen Kommunikation ausreichend Raum und Zeit eingeräumt wird.

Wir sind bereit, unsere fachlichen, methodischen und sozialen Kompetenzen ständig zu erweitern. Entsprechende Qualifizierungsangebote stehen ausreichend zur Verfügung. Wir fühlen uns bei unserem Handeln dem Grundsatz verpflichtet, die uns zur Verfügung gestellten Ressourcen zielorientiert, wirtschaftlich und umweltschonend einzusetzen.

Unser Führungsverständnis

Die vielfältigen Aufgaben von Technik und Verwaltung verlangen nach qualifizierten und engagierten Leitungs- und Führungspersönlichkeiten mit einer hohen fachlichen und sozialen Kompetenz. Soweit wir leitende Aufgaben wahrnehmen, schaffen wir gemeinsam mit den Mitarbeiter/innen die Voraussetzungen für eine gute Zusammenarbeit und fördern die Bereitschaft zu Kooperation und Dialog.

Für die Chancengleichheit setzen wir uns besonders ein. Unterschiedlichkeit sehen wir als Bereicherung unserer Zusammenarbeit an. Jeglicher Form von Diskriminierung wirken wir entgegen. In diesem Sinne übertragen wir Verantwortung, verteilen die Aufgaben gerecht und beteiligen Mitarbeiter/innen aktiv an der Gestaltung von Arbeitsabläufen.

Es ist Teil unseres Führungsverständnisses, dass wir uns mit den Mitarbeiter/innen kontinuierlich und offen über die gemeinsame Bewältigung der Aufgaben verständigen. Gute Arbeit wird ausdrücklich anerkannt. Wir stellen uns schützend vor unsere Mitarbeiter/innen. Angemessene, konstruktive Kritik nehmen wir an. Als Leitungs- bzw. Führungskräfte sind wir uns unserer Verantwortung und unserer Vorbildfunktion bewusst. Durch Übereinstimmung von Reden und Handeln tragen wir dazu bei, dass die Grundsätze und Ideale dieses Leitbildes verwirklicht werden.

Unsere Vision

Mit der Umsetzung der Grundsätze des Leitbildes in der täglichen Arbeit streben wir an, dass sich alle Beschäftigten mit ihrem Arbeitsplatz und der Ruhr-Universität Bochum identifizieren können. Unser Ziel ist, durch geeignete Projekte und Maßnahmen optimale Arbeitsbedingungen, größere Arbeitszufriedenheit, höhere Leistungsbereitschaft und somit eine erkennbare Qualitätssteigerung zu erreichen. Wir alle wollen konstruktiv und mit Freude zum Gelingen der universitären Aufgaben beitragen.